TripTronicTech - We'll try to be your best and your only source for simply everything Tech
Dec 4 2012

Review: Glove.ly MagLove Gloves – Three Words: I Glove You.

AustinGriffith

 

I hate gloves. I always have. I’m very tech

nologically centered, and wearing gloves means having to take them off every single time I want to reply to a text, send a tweet, instagram a picture of my food, it’s such a hassle. Thank god I stumbled upon the Glove.ly gloves.

Glove.ly Gloves are black, stylish, stretchy gloves that have small metallic strands throughout them allowing the user/wearer to use there cell phones and touchscreen devices from the comfort of your gloves.

Continue reading


Sep 16 2012

Review: iOS 6

Adam Shear

With the iPhone 5 on the horizon, Apple will also release with it an update to iOS, the operating system that powers the iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad. Most iOS users will enjoy this free update on September 19 which comes with plenty of new goodies to keep your device feeling fresh and new.  iOS 6 is the sixth major iOS update. Every previous update has had its claim to fame with the App Store in iOS 2.0, copy and paste in iOS 3.0, multitasking in iOS 4.0, and iCloud in iOS 5.0. Each of these features have changed the way iOS devices are used. Does iOS 6 change the way iOS is used, or does it happen to be the least important major iOS update to date?

Like other iOS updates, iOS 6 comes with over 100 new features. Through this review, I will go over many of its major features and put my concluding thoughts in the end. All of the screenshots you see come from my iPhone 4S during the three months I have been testing a beta version of iOS 6. Continue reading


Aug 23 2012

Stay Charged with Powerbag

Tarndeep

As someone who uses their smartphone to plan out each day of their life, having my phone’s battery charged and running is extremely important to me. However, it seems that in today’s day and age, while our phones only get better and more powerful, battery life is still the same, and it is not holding up against these newer power hungry smartphones. It’s disappointing how far we have come, in terms of technology, smartphone wise, but our battery technology, well, sucks, for the most part, unless you shell out extra cash for a bigger battery. Many, including myself aren’t fond of bigger capacity batteries for a handful of reasons – they add extra bulk to the device due to the battery size, of course, unless you pay a much higher premium for a battery that fits your device without adding any bulk. However, more often than not, the increase in battery life with those without bulk are almost inconsiderable. Another big issue with shelling out money for a higher capacity battery is they’re made by third party companies! While there are some trusted companies, there’s no guarantee that battery won’t blow up, when going with a third party! After shelling out many Benjamin’s for my Galaxy Nexus, I’d rather not take that risk, and this, is where Powerbag comes in. Continue reading


Jun 14 2012

Jammin’ Review: Positive Vibration Headphones by The House of Marley

Tarndeep

Music is everywhere, and it’s a party of everyone’s life nowadays. Unlike the late 80s and early 90s, many people are no longer carrying a loud, disposable battery powered boombox, playing a mix tape their significant other oh so lovingly made for them. Today, for the most part, it’s all about the headphones – it’s hard to go outside nowadays without seeing someone with out headphones on, listening to music. And with this music revolution, you can be sure there are many varieties of headphones, from in earphones to on ear headphones, ranging from prices like $5 – several thousand dollars! But with so many headphones, how can one be sure which pair to purchase – aren’t they all the same, made for the same purpose? Alas, it’s not that easy, and in a way, that’s good because if it wasn’t for me trying out various headphones, I’d never discover the House of Marley headphones. Ever since I’ve seen a demo of them at CES 2012 & started using them, I’m in love, and my music sounds better than before, when I was using a nice pair of Sennheisers. The House of Marley offers a plethora of headphones, with options for many types of listeners, with many different comfort options, and the best part is, unlike many other “high-end” headphone companies, Continue reading


Mar 20 2012

Review: The New Apple TV

Adam Shear

While Appl

e has many famous product lines, there is one that hasn’t received as much attention. Apple’s device used to bring iTunes content to your HDTV has gone through significant changes from the first generation model to second generation. The second generation relied completely on streaming video in 720p HD and lacked the bulky, expensive hard drive the first version relied on. It also brought Internet streaming services like Netflix and YouTube. The final major feature the second generation Apple TV brought to the world was AirPlay which allows one to play videos from an iOS device on their big screen TV. Aside from The new iPad, Apple also launched the third generation Apple TV on March 16. This new Apple TV finally brings us streaming video in 1080p HD and an all new user interface. Does the Apple TV deliver as a great set top box or is this tiny black box still a hobby product for Apple enthusiasts?

Continue reading


Jan 2 2012

Review: Samsung Galaxy Nexus: Welcome to the Future of Android

Adam Shear

buy cheap cialis=”" width=”466″ height=”414″ />Over the last few years, Android, Google’s first attempt into the smartphone market, has become an incredibly huge success. Many people love it, however, I have had a few complaints about the OS over the last few years. Android, like Windows 98 or Windows XP, does not at all feel elegant. Its interface needed a bit of work in my opinion to catch up my personal favorite smartphone, the iPhone. Even Windows Phone 7 has a better interface in terms of flow and elegance. Google and Samsung are hoping the Galaxy Nexus, featuring the debut of Android 4.0 or Ice Cream Sandwich as its referred to, proves to introduce the future of Android inside a state of the art smartphone. Is it enough to make it the best Android phone on the market? Find out in my review.

Continue reading


Dec 19 2011

Review: HTC Rhyme, The Ultimate Feminine Phone

Adam Shear

img class=”Cold Sore Free Forever – Highest Converter

1/12/verizon_htc_rhyme_2.jpg”>aligncenter size-full wp-image-3280″ title=”verizon_htc_rhyme_2src=”http://triptronictech.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/verizon_htc_rhyme_2.jpgalt=”" width=”536″ height=”420″ />
Many smartphone manufacturers today are focusing not just on power and software, but also style. Phones have to look just as good as they perform. HTC mainly focused on style when it comes to the HTC Rhyme. The phone just looks so nice, mostly because of its unibody design. While the HTC Rhyme may look good, does it have enough to stand out amongst its competition? Find out in my review.

The Hardware

On the outside, the HTC Rhyme is one of the best looking Android phones on the market. Its purple color and unibody design make it stand out. The Rhyme feels good in the hand and is not thick or heavy at all. In fact, the Rhyme is so light that I thought it had no battery inside when I first held it. Not only is the phone purple but it comes with a purple charm which plugs into the headphone jack and lights up when you receive a call or notification. I really could not figure out the significance of the charm but girls certainly will know their way around it. In terms of the look and feel of the device, the only major problem I had was that it sometimes overheated. There were a few times where I was streaming music on 3G data and that phone felt very hot afterwards. Phones do get hot after a lot of usage but this was definitely hotter than normal.

In the case of its internals, the HTC Rhyme unfortunately does not impress. For a $200 phone, it has only a 1 GHz single core processor. I can name so many phones at the same price that are more than twice as fast as the HTC Rhyme. This is pretty unacceptable. The speed difference is very noticeable, enough to say that Android phones really do need dual core processors to be decent phones. At least it has a decent amount of RAM at 768 mb. The amount of storage you get is also fine which is 4 GB of internal memory as well as 8 GB included on the micro SD card that came inside. The Rhyme’s battery at 1600 mAh actually was fairly great. I was able to get up to four hours of streaming music over 3G and the phone easily lasted a full day of moderate to heavy usage. The screen size at 3.7 inches is only small when being compared to other Android phones on the market. In general the screen is a nice size but the screen’s resolution is fairly low at 480 X 800 pixels. Phones half the price of the Rhyme has higher resolution screens. Just from what’s inside, it is clear that the HTC Rhyme is pretty overpriced for what one would actually get from any other phone with the same price tag.

The Service

Believe it or not, the HTC Rhyme is the first phone that I have ever reviewed on Verizon’s 3G network. I never used it before and I gotta say, the EVDO Rev.A technology is fairly decent. AT&T’s 3G network is still faster but Verizon’s service for the most part was on par with Sprint and maybe surpassing T-Mobile. The only difference with Verizon’s network was that I didn’t lose connection as much as I did for the other 3G networks. While in the Syracuse area, the other 3G networks were much better, Verizon was much more reliable than T-Mobile and Sprint and on par with AT&T everywhere else I went with the phone including areas in Pennsylvania, New Jersey and the New York metro area. I give two thumbs up to Verizon’s 3G network. I’d give more thumbs up to its incredible 4G LTE network as I’m using it now with the Galaxy Nexus but unfortunately the HTC Rhyme is only a 3G phone.

The Software

In terms of software, I have no complaints. I love HTC Sense and Gingerbread so if you have used any of those, you know exactly what to expect. Only real difference is that it comes with some more girly themes and wallpapers. My only complaint about software is that the single core 1 GHz processor limits what can be done on the phone and slows everything down. It’s clear that Android phones need dual core processors.

Final Thoughts

The HTC Rhyme is a pretty phone that feels great in the hand, but that’s all it really is. The HTC costs $200, probably double the price it should cost. There are so many other phones available on Verizon’s network at the same price that have more than twice the power and use Verizon’s amazing 4G LTE network. The Rhyme should be worth $100 at most. With so many better choices, I sadly cannot recommend the HTC Rhyme.

The Good

    • Pretty unibody design
    • Feels great in the hand
    • The charm is kind of cool if you’re into that thing
    • Runs HTC Sense and Gingerbread
    • Battery life is not pretty good

    The Bad

      • Overpriced
      • Underpowered with its single core processor
      • Overheats

      Final Score: 5.5/10

      Special thanks to Verizon for loaning TripTronicTech an HTC Rhyme for review.


      Nov 28 2011

      LG Nitro HD: High Definition Taken to New Sizes

      Eric Engoron

      It’s about time AT&T users got the full HD experience, is it not? Well after a long wait, their HD opportunity has finally arrived in the LG Nitro HD, an amazingly clear HD phone from LG exclusively for AT&T customers.

      Aside from being a completely HD phone, with an impressive 4.5 inch HD screen, this phone is also the third phone in AT&T’s line of 4G LTE phones. As the AT&T 4G LTE network continuously expands, so do the possibilities.

      An enormous screen size and blazing fast 4G LTE speeds are not all this phone has to offer. The LG Nitro HD also has a 1.5-gigahertz dual-core processor that allows you to take full advantage of the phone’s HD capabilities, an eight-megapixel camera, as well as 20 gigs of storage, for all your favorite apps and games.

      Lastly, but certainly not least, the LG Nitro HD boasts an incredibly slim and light design, something that cannot be said for any other smartphone of this caliber.

      The LG Nitro HD comes to the market on December 4th for a price of $249.99 with a two-year contract. Pick yours up ASAP.


      Nov 15 2011

      Review: The Dazzling iPad 2

      Manvinder

      When Apple released it’s predecessor in early 2010, the tablet world had exploded. Apple made their first impression in the field, and shortly, the iPad became the largest selling tablet in the world. In April this year, Apple released the iPad 2. This is a one of a kind mammoth packs features like a dual-core processor, a front and rear-facing camera, just to name a few. So is this device any different than the rest of the tablets on the market, is it a real step up from the iPad, and is it really a “Revolutionary device?” Continue reading


      Nov 14 2011

      Review: HTC Flyer – This Thing Really Flies!

      Adam Shear

      Honeycomb seems to be all the rage these days when it comes to Android tablets.  Manufacturers are not even thinking about using Gingerbread, the same version of Android used on smartphones, for a tablet.  HTC thought different in this case with the HTC Flyer.  The original Samsung Galaxy Tab did the exact same thing before Honeycomb was even announced.  The one big difference with the Flyer is that it utilizes HTC Sense.   Is HTC Sense enough to make a tablet running phone software actually useful and enjoyable?  Find out in my review.

      Continue reading